Posted by: Mark Polk | 2015

71 Power Wagon – Light at the End of the Tunnel

I started the Sweptline Semi-Hemi project in early 2013. Sometimes I was able to work on the truck 2 or 3 days a week, and sometimes it sat untouched for weeks at a time. Now, as impossible as it seems the 71 power wagon is nearing completion. The last major step is the exhaust system, and there are lots of little things to complete and double check, but I see a bright light at the end of the tunnel.

Recently I finished most of the wiring, installed the new tires and wheels and started putting the chrome back on the truck. I want to do one final buff on the paint and when I get it back from the exhaust shop I will test drive it and work out the bugs. I have done everything on this restoration myself with the exception of changing the gear sets in the front and rear axles, the exhaust system and the cab paint, which the guy I paid to paint the cab screwed up.

This restoration was more difficult than most because there are very few replacement parts available for these old Dodge trucks, but that was part of the challenge and the fun. I can hardly wait to get the semi-hemi project truck on the road.

Read about the full build HERE

Mark Polk

Auto Education 101

Sponsored by:


Need a sway control hitch?
Learn More about the Equal-i-zer®
The Original Equal-i-zer Sway control hitch has been enjoyed by thousands of trailer owners for over 50 years. Learn more about the Equal-i-zer hitch, and find which hitch will work best for you

Categories

