Posted by: Mark Polk | 2015

71 Power Wagon – Paint Job Finished

71 power wagon paint job complete

71 power wagon paint job complete

It’s been a long time coming, but the truck is finally painted. My biggest regret with the paint job was painting the truck in sections as opposed to all at once, and buying the paint on two separate occasions rather than at the same time. The end result is a noticeable difference in color between the sections. If I would have had two or three gallons of paint mixed at the same time it would have turned out better.

The problem started when I made the decision to hire somebody (a professional) to do the body work and paint the truck. Long story short, the guy ended up ripping me off and the only thing he painted was the cab and the doors. He over charged me and his paint job had runs, bugs and dirt in it. At that point in time I spent too much of my budget on him and I had to finish the remainder of the body work and paint myself.

Other factors affected the rest of the paint job too, like the temperature on days I painted, thinning the paint, using two different spray guns, and the list goes on. Hind sight is 20-20, but the next time I know better. I am hoping color sanding and buffing the paint will help some, which is the next step in the process. I will wet sand the entire truck using 1500 grit sandpaper followed by 2000 grit sandpaper and then buff the entire truck using a buffer and a good quality Meguiar’s polishing compound.

After I color sand and buff the paint I can put the chrome, and lights back on the truck. The side chrome pieces that came with the truck were painted black in the middle originally. I removed the black paint and cleaned and polished all the side chrome pieces. At the last minute I decided to paint the middle section of the chrome pieces to match the darker color I used on the front bumper, the center section of the hood, and  on the tailgate. I masked the chrome off, lightly sanded the center sections, cleaned it good with wax and grease remover and sprayed and cleared them when I sprayed the tailgate.

The next piece of the puzzle is to get the exhaust done. Up to this point I have done everything on this restoration myself, but I plan to pay a shop to do the custom exhaust. The exhaust will be done using 3-inch mandrel-bent pipe, exhaust cut-outs, an X pipe, mufflers and tips.

Next up: Fabricating Side Steps

Read about the full build HERE

Mark Polk

Auto Education 101

Sponsored by:


Need a sway control hitch?
Learn More about the Equal-i-zer®
The Original Equal-i-zer Sway control hitch has been enjoyed by thousands of trailer owners for over 50 years. Learn more about the Equal-i-zer hitch, and find which hitch will work best for you

Categories

