Posted by: Mark Polk | 2015

71 Power Wagon – Installing the Doors and Windows

A big mistake I made when I first removed the doors was to not drill a couple holes through the hinges, with the doors on, to help align things when it was time to put the doors back on. If you drill a couple holes through the door hinges before removing the doors you just line the holes up slip a drill bit or bolt in the holes and the doors are back in the original correct position. Without the holes it took me awhile to adjust the lines and gaps between the door, fender and cowl when I re-installed the doors on the truck. Now that the doors are back on it was time to tackle all the door hardware, the window regulators, window glass and the weatherstripping. One thing that made the job easier is the top section of the power wagon’s doors (the part that goes around the windows) unbolt and come off, giving you better access to install the wing window and door glass.

window hardware paintedThe first thing I did was use some leftover bed liner paint I had on the inside bottom sections of the doors. Next I cleaned and sanded the window regulators and door latches and painted them with POR cast iron spray paint. I painted the vent window frames awhile back so they were ready to go. One of my exterior door handles was damaged so I bought two new door handles which are really nice.

 

door installed exteriorThe door latches, locks and hardware went back together much easier than I expected. With all the hardware installed and the door closing properly I installed all the new window seals and weatherstripping in the tracks, except for the door rubber, and I installed the window regulator, window glass and vent window frame. I didn’t tighten anything down yet and I placed the top door section back in place, being careful not to scratch the new paint.

 

 

 

door installed interior

With the door installed and all parts working properly I installed the door weather stripping. It’s easy to do with a good weather stripping adhesive, just make sure you put it on the correct way. (This is where all the “before” pictures come in handy). Now that I remember how everything goes back together the other side will be a breeze.

 

 

Next  Fabricating a Front Winch Bumper

Read about the full build HERE

Mark Polk

Auto Education 101

Sponsored by:


Need a sway control hitch?
Learn More about the Equal-i-zer®
The Original Equal-i-zer Sway control hitch has been enjoyed by thousands of trailer owners for over 50 years. Learn more about the Equal-i-zer hitch, and find which hitch will work best for you

Categories

