Posted by: Mark Polk | 2013

71 Power Wagon Let the Real Work Begin

After deciding on a transmission it was time to get to work. I figured the best way to get the old engine and transmission out, install the Rough Country 4- inch lift on the front suspension and get the new engine and transmission in was to remove the front clip from the truck. This will also give me access to sanding and painting the firewall and cleaning and painting the front section of the frame.

Removing Engine

With the front clip removed it was easy getting the the old big block engine and transmission out. I ordered a Rough Country 4-inch lift so this was the perfect opportunity to get it installed. And I can tackle installing the power steering unit that I found on an old sweptline when we were in Colorado this past summer. It’s going to be great to hae power steering in the old Dodge if I can get it all figured out.

Install 4-inch Lift

Mark Polk

Auto Education 101

Next post: 71 Power Wagon PTO Winch or Electric Winch?

Categories

