Posted by: Mark Polk | 2013

Rebuilding the 318 Poly Head Engine

It took a while but I finally got the engine back from the machine shop, adding another $870 to the cost of the engine. If you recall in an earlier post the block was already bored at some point in time, so it had to be bored to .060 over. In addition to boring the cylinders the machine shop went through the heads, installed new exhaust seats, reassembled the heads with all new parts, checked the line bore, balanced the motor and blasted my P600 3-deuce intake.

When it came to parts for the engine I spared no expense. I decided to go with hydraulic lifters, so I had a High Performance Poly 262/.460” hydraulic cam grind done by Schneider Racing Cams. Since I won’t be racing it, and it’s a 4X4 truck, this mild street cam will  work well in this application. Other parts include: Full engine gasket set, hydraulic lifters, hydraulic pushrods, valves, valve springs, new rocker shafts, NOS rockers, .060 pistons, .010 rod bearings, .020 main bearings, pin bushings, street roller timing chain and gear, and oil pump.

318 Poly Crankshaft

318 Poly Crankshaft

The day after I picked it up from the machine shop I started on the bottom end. It all went together smoothly and with the crankshaft, camshaft, pistons and timing chain installed it turned over great.

318 Poly Top End

318 Poly Top End

The next day I took my son Tyler over to the garage and we assembled the top end.

318 Poly Engine Rebuild

318 Poly Engine Rebuild

I wanted to get the engine closed up to eliminate any possibilty of dirt and contamination in the engine. With the engine put back together I can start on the externals. I ordered an electronic ignition conversion kit and some other parts.

While I am waiting on the parts to arrive I plan to paint the block and start installing the 3-Rochester carbs and progressive linkage on the P600  intake.

The next major project is the transmision. I have been searching for an A518 (overdrive)or possibly a TF 904 transmission, but haven’t had much luck yet. I’ll keep you posted.

Mark Polk

Auto Education 101

Go to the next post:

71 Power Wagon Finding a Transmission

Categories

