Posted by: Mark Polk | 2013

Harley Davidson Golf Cart Build

When I have some spare time on my hands, which isn’t often, I enjoy restoring old golf carts as a hobby. We always have at least one cart we can use to run around the neighborhood, and I usually sell the others after they are restored. I found this is a good way to keep my car fund built-up for other projects. Last year we produced a 17 episode series titled Mark’s RV Garage featuring a vintage 1967 Yellowstone travel trailer restoration project.

Vintage Yellowstone trailer before

Vintage Yellowstone trailer before

1967 vintage Yellowstone trailer after

1967 vintage Yellowstone trailer after

At the time I had an old Club Car golf cart I was working on and thought it would be neat to restore the cart to match the vintage travel trailer. If you know what to look for in a used golf cart you can make a litlle money on them.

Club cart Project

Club cart Project

Club Car project after

Club Car project after

When I was between projects I ran across a Craigslist ad for 2 Harley Davidson golf carts, one electric and one gas. Harley Davidson manufactured golf carts from 1963 through 1995, changing hands a few times. Harley Davidson built the carts from 63 through 69. In 1969 Harley sold their company to American Machine & Foundry Company (AMF). AMF continued producing golf carts with the Harley Davidson badge until Columbia Car Par purchased the golf cart division in 1982. They would continue producing the HD branded carts through 1995.

The earlier HD carts were 3-wheel versions and the later models were 4-wheel versions. The two carts I was considering purchasing were 72 and 75 models from the AMF HD golf cart era. After doing some research on HD golf carts I discovered that even a nicely restored HD cart doesn’t sell for a great deal of money (pricing was actually all over the place but as a median $1,200 to $1,500), so it would be important to watch every dollar I invest in this project. If the gas cart needs any major engine or transmission components I could end up losing money on the deal. I also researched replacement parts availability and pricing, discovering that replacement parts were expensive and sometimes hard to come by.

The Craigslist ad said the electric cart ran and operated and the gas cart started but had flat tires preventing it from being driven. These carts were 40 and 37 years-old, so I wasn’t expecting them to be in great shape. I made the decision to drive the 2-hours and take a closer look at them. The worse that could happen is I would be out a tank of gas.

Thanks for joining us on our HD golf cart build thread. Follow along in the next post as we get deeper into the project. Harley Davidson Golf Carts – The Purchase

Mark Polk

RV Education 101

RV Consumer

Join us on Facebook

Categories

